About us

Three Rivers Department of Rural Health (DRH) will support more health students to live, study and work in rural Australia.

Our purpose

We aim to improve the recruitment and retention of nursing, midwifery, allied health and dentistry professionals in rural and remote Australia.

Health courses supported by us

We support health disciplines across the faculties of Science, Arts and Education, and Business, Justice and Behavioural Sciences.

Our footprint

The Wiradjuri Nation area has been described as 'land of the three rivers'. Our footprint is bounded by:

  • the Wambuul (later known as the Macquarie River)
  • the Galari (later known as the Lachlan River)
  • the Marrambidya (later known as the Murrumbidgee River) and
  • the Murray River which forms the Wiradjuri's southern boundary.

Our priorities

Three Rivers DRH is a key initiative of the Australian Government's Rural Health Multidisciplinary Training Program. The program's objective is to improve the recruitment and retention of medical, dental, nursing and allied health professionals in rural and remote Australia.

What we do

We operate under five workstreams:
- Rural Health Education and Training
- Pathways and Student Support
- First Nations Health Success
- Research 
- Operations.

Our locations

We are based in central and southern New South Wales. Our regional footprint encompasses both the Murrumbidgee and Western NSW Local Health Districts and Primary Health Networks.

Our people

We are committed to adding value to processes already in place to attract health professionals to rural areas, with a focus on developing innovative ways to continue the growth of this workforce.

Our stakeholders

We work together with educators, researchers, governments, healthcare providers and local communities to achieve our goals.

Our teaching resources

We have developed a variety of resources to support educators, students and professionals.